Pre-Approved Graduate Faculty

In consultation with their PSTP Career Advisors, students may CHOOSE lab and thesis advisors from ANY graduate faculty in Departments linked with the PSTP. Once a potential faculty member has been identified, we request the faculty NIH Biosketch, support pages and training record for review and approval by the PSTP Steering Committee.

THE FOLLOWING list of pre-approved graduate training faculty identifies graduate program directors and faculty who:

  1. Currently are supporting an PSTP student in their lab

    or

  2. Attend and participate in the PSTP activities (e.g. retreat, committees, teach courses, etc.) along with submitting NIH Biosketch, training record and support pages to Laila C. Lee (laila.lee@pitt.edu) for review by the PSTP Steering Committee.

We revise this list every September following the PSTP retreat.

Sort by name | Sort by department

A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z

-- A --

Carolyn Anderson, PhD
Email: andersoncj@upmc.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1: Bioengineering
Department 2: Pharmacology
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


Gerard Apodaca, PhD
Email: gla6@pitt.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1: Cell Biology and Molecular Physiology
Department 2: Integrative Molecular Biology
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


-- B --

Stephen Badylak, DVM, PhD, MD
Email: badylaks@upmc.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1: Bioengineering
Department 2: McGowan Institute for Regenerative Medicine
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


Ivet Bahar, PhD
Email: bahar@pitt.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1: Computational Biology
Department 2: McGowan Institute for Regenerative Medicine
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


Christopher Bakkenist, PhD
Email: bakkenistcj@upmc.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1: Pharmacology
Department 2:
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


Carlton Bates, MD
Email: batescm@upmc.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1:
Department 2:
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


Aaron Batista, PhD
Email: apb10@pitt.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1: Bioengineering
Department 2:
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


Hülya Bayir, MD
Email: Bayihx@upmc.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1:
Department 2:
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


Marlene Behrmann, PhD
Email: behrmann@cmu.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1: Neuroscience (CNUP)
Department 2:
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


Takis Benos, PhD
Email: benos@pitt.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1: Computational Biology
Department 2: Biomedical Informatics
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


Sarah Berman, MD, PhD
Email: bermans@upmc.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1:
Department 2:
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


Kara Bernstein, PhD
Email: karab@pitt.edu
Homepage:
Department 1:
Department 2:
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


Timothy Billiar, MD
Email: billiartr@upmc.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1: McGowan Institute for Regenerative Medicine
Department 2:
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


Robert Binder, PhD
Email: rjb42@pitt.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1: Immunology
Department 2:
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


Lisa Borghesi, PhD
Email: borghesi@pitt.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1: Immunology
Department 2:
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


Harvey Borovetz, PhD
Email: borovetzhs@upmc.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1: Bioengineering
Department 2: McGowan Institute for Regenerative Medicine
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


Grant Bullock
Email: bullockgc@upmc.edu
Homepage:
Department 1: Pathology
Department 2:
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


Timothy F. Burns, MD, PhD
Email: burnstf@upmc.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1:
Department 2:
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


Lisa Butterfield, PhD
Email: butterfieldl@upmc.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1: Immunology
Department 2:
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


-- C --

Clifton W. Callaway, MD, PhD
Email: callaway@pitt.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1: Pharmacology
Department 2:
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


Kevin Chan, PhD
Email: Chan4074@pitt.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1: Bioengineering
Department 2:
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


Charleen Chu, MD, PhD
Email: ctc4@pitt.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1: Pathology
Department 2:
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


Nathan Clark, PhD
Email: nclark@pitt.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1: Computational Biology
Department 2:
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


Paula Clemens, MD
Email: clemenspr@upmc.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1: Neuroscience (CNUP)
Department 2: Biochemistry and Molecular Genetics
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


Greg M. Cooper, PhD
Email: Greg.Cooper@chp.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1:
Department 2:
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


Carolyn Coyne, PhD
Email: coynec2@pitt.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1: Molecular Virology and Microbiology
Department 2:
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


-- D --

Marie DeFrances, MD, PhD
Email: defrancesmc@upmc.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1: Pathology
Department 2: McGowan Institute for Regenerative Medicine
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


Donald DeFranco, PhD
Email: dod1@pitt.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1: Pharmacology
Department 2: Neuroscience (CNUP)
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


Neal DeLuca, PhD
Email: ndeluca@pitt.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1: Molecular Virology and Microbiology
Department 2: Microbiology and Molecular Genetics
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


Peter Drain, PhD
Email: drain@pitt.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1: Cell Biology and Molecular Physiology
Department 2:
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


Yiqin Du
Email: du
Homepage:
Department 1: Psychology (CMU)
Department 2: Psychology (CMU)
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


Umamahefwar Duvvuri , MD, PhD
Email: duvvuriu@upmc.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1:
Department 2:
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


-- F --

Robert Ferris, MD, PhD
Email: ferrisrl@upmc.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1: Immunology
Department 2:
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


Joanne Flynn, PhD
Email: joanne@pitt.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1: Microbiology and Molecular Genetics
Department 2: Immunology
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


Bruce Freeman, PhD
Email: freerad@pitt.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1: Pharmacology
Department 2:
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


Robert Friedlander, MD
Email: friedlander@upmc.edu
Homepage:
Department 1: Neurological Surgery
Department 2:
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


James Funderburgh, PhD
Email: jlfunder@pitt.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1: Cell Biology and Molecular Physiology
Department 2: McGowan Institute for Regenerative Medicine
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


-- G --

Mark Gladwin, MD
Email: gladwinmt@upmc.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1:
Department 2:
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


Anthony Grace, PhD
Email: GraceAA@pitt.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1: Neuroscience (CNUP)
Department 2:
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


-- H --

Teresa Hastings, PhD
Email: hastingst@upmc.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1: Neuroscience (CNUP)
Department 2:
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


Robert Hendricks, PhD
Email: hendricksrr@upmc.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1: Immunology
Department 2:
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


-- J --

Edwin K. Jackson, PhD
Email: edj@pitt.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1: Pharmacology
Department 2:
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


Rebecca Jacobson, MD, MS
Email: rebeccaj@pitt.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1: Biomedical Informatics
Department 2: Psychology (CMU)
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


-- K --

Lawrence Kane, PhD
Email: lkane@pitt.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1: Immunology
Department 2:
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


Ata Murat Kaynar
Email: amk96@pitt.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1:
Department 2:
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


Erin Kershaw, MD
Email: kershawe@pitt.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1:
Department 2:
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


Saleem Khan, PhD
Email: khan@pitt.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1: Microbiology and Molecular Genetics
Department 2:
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


Jiyun Kim, MD, PhD
Email: jvkim@pitt.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1: Immunology
Department 2:
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


Kang Kim, PhD
Email: kangkim@upmc.edu
Homepage:
Department 1: Bioengineering
Department 2:
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


Thomas Kleyman, MD
Email: kleyman@pitt.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1: Cell Biology and Molecular Physiology
Department 2:
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


William E. Klunk, M.D., Ph.D
Email: klunkwe@upmc.edu
Homepage:
Department 1:
Department 2:
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


Richard Koerber, PhD
Email: rkoerber@pitt.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1: Neuroscience (CNUP)
Department 2:
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


Jay Kolls, MD
Email: jay.kolls@chp.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1: Immunology
Department 2:
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


-- L --

Fadi Lakkis, MD
Email: lakkisf@upmc.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1: Immunology
Department 2:
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


Adrian Lee, PhD
Email: leeav@upmc.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1: Pharmacology
Department 2:
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


Janet Lee, MD
Email: leejs3@upmc.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1:
Department 2:
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


David Lewis, MD
Email: lewisda@upmc.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1: Neuroscience (CNUP)
Department 2:
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


Steven Little, PhD
Email: srlittle@pitt.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1:
Department 2:
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


Youhua Liu, PhD
Email: liuy@upmc.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1: Cellular and Molecular Pathology (CMP)
Department 2:
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


-- M --

Melissa Mann
Email: mannmr@mwri.magee.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1:
Department 2:
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


Kacey G. Marra, PhD
Email: marrak@upmc.edu
Homepage:
Department 1:
Department 2:
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


Wendy Mars, PhD
Email: wmars@pitt.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1: Cellular and Molecular Pathology (CMP)
Department 2:
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


Colleen Mcclung, PhD
Email: mcclungca@upmc.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1:
Department 2:
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


John Mellors, MD
Email: Mellors@dom.pitt.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1: Molecular Virology and Microbiology
Department 2:
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


Stephen D. Meriney, PhD
Email: meriney@pitt.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1: Neuroscience (CNUP)
Department 2:
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


George Michalopoulos, MD, PhD
Email: michalopoulosgk@upmc.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1: Cellular and Molecular Pathology (CMP)
Department 2: McGowan Institute for Regenerative Medicine
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


Satdarshan Monga, MD
Email: smonga@pitt.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1: Cellular and Molecular Pathology (CMP)
Department 2: McGowan Institute for Regenerative Medicine
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


Alison Morris, MD, MS
Email: morrisa@upmc.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1:
Department 2:
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


-- N --

Vishwajit Nimgaonkar, PhD
Email: nimga@pitt.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1: Human Genetics (GSPH)
Department 2:
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


Karen Norris, PhD
Email: kan1@pitt.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1: Immunology
Department 2: Molecular Virology and Microbiology
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


-- O --

Robert O'Doherty, PhD
Email: ODohertyR@dom.pitt.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1: Biochemistry and Molecular Genetics
Department 2:
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


Steffi Oesterreich, PhD
Email: oesterreichs@upmc.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1: Pharmacology
Department 2:
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


Patricia Lynn Opresko, PhD
Email: plo4@pitt.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1:
Department 2:
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


Kyle Orwig, PhD
Email: keo6@pitt.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1: Developmental Biology
Department 2: Microbiology and Molecular Genetics
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


Tim Oury, MD, PhD
Email: tdoury@pitt.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1: Cellular and Molecular Pathology (CMP)
Department 2: McGowan Institute for Regenerative Medicine
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


-- P --

Patrick Pagano, PhD
Email: pagano@pit.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1: Pharmacology
Department 2:
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


Nuria Pastor-Soler, MD, PhD
Email: pastorn@pitt.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1: Cell Biology and Molecular Physiology
Department 2:
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


Mary Phillips, MD
Email: phillipsml@upmc.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1:
Department 2:
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


Bruce Pitt, PhD
Email: brucep@pitt.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1: Pharmacology
Department 2: McGowan Institute for Regenerative Medicine
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


Edward Prochownik, MD, PhD
Email: procev@chp.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1: Biochemistry and Molecular Genetics
Department 2:
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


-- R --

R. Mark Richardson, MD, PhD
Email: richardsonrm@upmc.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1:
Department 2:
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


James Roberts, MD
Email: jroberts@mwri.magee.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1: Epidemiology
Department 2:
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


Beth Roman, PhD
Email: romanb@pitt.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1: Human Genetics (GSPH)
Department 2:
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


Caterina Rosano, MD, MPH
Email: rosanoc@edc.pitt.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1: Epidemiology
Department 2:
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


Sarah Ross, PhD
Email: saross@pitt.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1:
Department 2:
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


Maria Rubio, MD, PhD
Email: mer@pitt.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1: Neuroscience (CNUP)
Department 2:
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


-- S --

Ulka Sachdev, MD
Email: sachdevu2@upmc.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1:
Department 2:
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


Yoel Sadovsky, MD
Email: ysadovsky@mwri.magee.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1: Developmental Biology
Department 2:
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


Saumendra Sarkar, PhD
Email: saumen@pitt.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1: Microbiology and Molecular Genetics
Department 2: Psychology (CMU)
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


Martin Schmidt, PhD
Email: mcs2@pitt.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1: Microbiology and Molecular Genetics
Department 2:
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


Steven Shapiro, MD
Email: shapirosd@upmc.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1: Cellular and Molecular Pathology (CMP)
Department 2:
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


Sanjeev Shroff, PhD
Email: sshroff@pitt.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1: Bioengineering
Department 2: McGowan Institute for Regenerative Medicine
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


Michael Shurin, MD, PhD
Email: shurinmr@upmc.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1: Cellular and Molecular Pathology (CMP)
Department 2: Immunology
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


Thomas Smithgall, PhD
Email: tsmithga@pitt.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1: Microbiology and Molecular Genetics
Department 2: Biochemistry and Molecular Genetics
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


Alexander Sorkin, PhD
Email: sorkin@pitt.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1: Cell Biology and Molecular Physiology
Department 2: Neuroscience (CNUP)
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


Gwendolyn Sowa, MD, PhD
Email: sowaga@upmc.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1:
Department 2:
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


Richard Steinman, MD, PhD
Email: steinman@pitt.edu
Homepage:
Department 1: Pharmacology
Department 2: Biochemistry and Molecular Genetics
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


George Stetten, MD, PhD
Email: stetten@pitt.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1: Bioengineering
Department 2: Robotics (CMU)
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


Donna Stolz, PhD
Email: dstolz@pitt.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1: Cell Biology and Molecular Physiology
Department 2:
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


Robert Sweet, MD
Email: sweetra@upmc.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1: Neuroscience (CNUP)
Department 2:
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


-- T --

Changfeng Tai, PhD
Email: cftai@pitt.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1: Pharmacology
Department 2:
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


Parthasarathy Thirumala, MD, MS
Email: thirumalapd@upmc.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1: Neurological Surgery
Department 2:
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


Angus Thomson, Ph.D., DS.c.
Email: thomsonaw@upmc.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1: Immunology
Department 2:
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


Allan Tsung, MD
Email: tsunga@upmc.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1:
Department 2:
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


Robert Turner, PhD
Email: rturner@pitt.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1: Neuroscience (CNUP)
Department 2:
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


Thanos Tzounopoulos, PhD
Email: thanos@pitt.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1:
Department 2: Psychology (CMU)
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


-- v --

Patrick van der Wel, PhD
Email: pvdwel@pitt.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1: Molecular Biophysics/Structural Biology
Department 2:
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


-- V --

Ben Van Houten, PhD
Email: vanhoutenb@upmc.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1:
Department 2:
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


Flordeliza Villanueva, MD
Email: villanuevafs@upmc.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1: McGowan Institute for Regenerative Medicine
Department 2:
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


Shyam Visweswaran, MD, PhD
Email: shv3@pitt.edu
Homepage:
Department 1:
Department 2:
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


David Vorp, PhD
Email: vorpda@upmc.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1: McGowan Institute for Regenerative Medicine
Department 2: Bioengineering
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


-- W --

William Walker, PhD
Email: walkerw@pitt.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1: Cell Biology and Molecular Physiology
Department 2:
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


Stephen Weber, PhD
Email: sweber@pitt.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1: Chemistry
Department 2:
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


Ora Weisz, PhD
Email: weisz@pitt.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1: Integrative Molecular Biology
Department 2: Cell Biology and Molecular Physiology
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


Alan Wells, MD, DMS
Email: wellsa@upmc.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1: Cellular and Molecular Pathology (CMP)
Department 2: McGowan Institute for Regenerative Medicine
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


Sally Wenzel, MD
Email: wenzelse@upmc.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1:
Department 2:
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


Clayton Wiley, MD PhD
Email: wiley1@pitt.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1: Pathology
Department 2: Neuroscience (CNUP)
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


Peter Wipf, PhD
Email: pwipf@pitt.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1: Pharmacology
Department 2: Chemistry
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


Cary Wu, PhD
Email: carywu@pitt.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1: Cellular and Molecular Pathology (CMP)
Department 2: McGowan Institute for Regenerative Medicine
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


-- X --

Yan Xu, PhD
Email: xuy@anes.upmc.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1: Neuroscience (CNUP)
Department 2: Pharmacology
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


-- Y --

Xiao-Ming Yin, MD, PhD
Email: xmyin@pitt.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1: Pathology
Department 2: McGowan Institute for Regenerative Medicine
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


-- Z --

Lin Zhang, PhD
Email: zhanglx@upmc.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1: Pharmacology
Department 2:
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees


Daniel Zuckerman, PhD
Email: ddmmzz@pitt.edu
Homepage: Visit
Department 1: Computational Biology
Department 2:
NIH Biosketch
List of Trainees